Economic Development


baxter aireal 2 

 Baxter Economic Development Corporation (BEDCO) is comprised of seven community volunteers responsible for the future growth of business, industry and housing in Baxter. BEDCO is responsible for establishing Tax Increment Financing (TIF) areas throughout the community, supplying necessary funds to accomplish such goals. Along with the Mayor and City Council, this group has completed many successful projects since its formation in 1988.

BEDCO was recertified in April of 2000 by the Iowa Department of Economic Development as meeting the requirements for the Community Economic Preparedness Program (CEPP) in the area of commercial and industrial development.


President - Ryan Bucklin

Vice President - Jon Northrup

Treasurer - Carol Bell

Secretary - Doug Bishop


From left: Ryan McKinney, Alliance Construction Group; Korey Marsh, Snyder & Associates, Inc.; Gennypher Popenhagen, Mayor; Danielle Brannen, State Savings Bank; Jason DeGraff, Alliance Construction Group; and Jon Northrup, BEDCO, Vice-President.